top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKeyla Damaer

Hear me out and watch me on YouTube


It's that time of the month again. No, no, not that one. What I mean is that it's time for my newsletter to travel to your inbox. This week is dedicated to some me time, but there are also free books. So, let's get started.

 

At the end of March, Scott Coatsworth interviewed me on his website. We talked about my life as an author. You can find the interview here.



But that's not all. Please, like and share


In my last newsletter, I revealed that The Halden Army, the short story that you downloaded when you subscribed to my newsletter, had been chosen to be read live on Nobody Reads Short Stories YouTube's channel. Jeremy and Megan read it last night, and it's now available as a podcast, and also as a video on YouTube. After the reading there's an interview that we recorded a few days ago. Because of the time difference, I couldn't be live with them.


 

And now let's begin with the flood of free books and short stories.



First of all, there's this giveaway with a bundle of sci-fi and fantasy free stories (all subgenres). All authors, yours truly included, are members of the Roundtable, a group of friends who help each other in times of need. We have a dedicated group on Facebook to discuss craft, strategies, and everything about the editorial world. If you don't know what to read, look no more. Here's everything you have ever wanted.


 

Here's another free book, by author C. P. James, The Technician, prequel to the Cytocorp Saga.





It's 2164. Dome Six has been cut off from the outside world for decades. Daisuke Yamamura, a technician, fears its crumbling infrastructure won't protect them from the Burn for much longer. An unusual work order takes him deep into the bowels of the Dome, where he learns a shocking truth. But when a synthetic organism erases his memory of the job, he becomes determined to learn where he went and why.

Download this story here.











 

Last but not least, here's a review of the last book I read, Madness From The Inconstant Moon, an anthology of short stories by sci-fi author Larry Niven.



Madness From The Inconstant Moon is an anthology of short sci-fi stories by Larry Niven.

A few months back, I borrowed a digital book—an anthology of short stories by the most famous authors in the genres. In that book, I discovered this fantastic sci-fi short story by Niven, Inconstant Moon, and fell in love with it. It’s basically a love story, which was a surprise to me, because I find romance an utterly boring genre. Unless the author is really good either for worldbuilding or for style. In that case, genre doesn’t matter.

In Niven’s case it’s the style that struck me as amazing.

The next thing I did was browsing the Amazon store looking for more and found this book.

Now, I gotta tell you, as a reader, I’m not a fan of short stories. If I like a story, I want novels, long and detailed. A short story is like being offered my favourite dish and then left looking and smelling at it, without the possibility to eat it. Why am I telling you this? Because I didn’t like this book. The only story I enjoyed was the one I bought it for, which I re-read over and over, and I strongly suggest everyone to read. The rest of the stories never caught my interest, almost making me want to sleep. One day, I’ll try one of Niven’s novels, I’m really curious about them, but no more short stories for sure.

Perhaps this review is not helpful, I realise that, but that's my honest review. I'll give it 2 stars.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page