top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKeyla Damaer

The Quantum Soul: A Sci Fi Roundtable Anthology. A review.

The Quantum Soul is my first reading experience with an indie authors’ anthology. The book contains sixteen short stories of various length. Most of them were compelling to my taste. To name a few, ‘What measure is a Homunculus’ by Ricardo Victoria is a brilliant tale about slaves and friendship against all odds. ‘When the Words are not Enough’ by Cindy Tomamichel is a bizarre tale, to say the least, and not only because I recognised most of the characters. ‘The Endymion Device’ by Lyra Shanti is a dream, or perhaps it isn’t. You’ll have to read it to find out. ‘Pixel’ by Greg Krojac is a Matrix-like story, short and intimate, which I enjoyed a great deal, like all stories by this author. ‘Project Chameleon’ by Jeannette O’Hagan is a sad story about treason and deceit with an interesting final twist, and ‘Second Contact’ by Leo McBride is my favourite, a fantastic tale about language and first contact, of course. Or maybe Second.


All in all, The Quantum Soul is a collection of interesting stories that I recommend to everyone interested in short stories and sci-fi at large. I must add that as much as most shorts were enjoyable, the majority presented several editing oversights. Only a couple seemed to be clean and tidy, as far as someone who speaks English as a second language can tell. This is the reason why I can’t give more than three stars to this book. Otherwise, I’d have given a four stars one. The editing issue slowed down the reading so much that at first, I thought most of the stories were just bad and had to give a quick re-read to them all before proceeding to review the book. I believe, once the editor fixed the tiny details they missed the first time, this book will be a must in your bookshelves.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page